Scholastic Awards for Local Grads in 2022

July 12, 2022

SHF Increases Its Health-Related Scholastic Awards for Local Grads to $87,000 in 2022!

The Samaritan Hospital Foundation is pleased to again offer scholastic awards to local grads residing in Ashland County, UH Samaritan Medical Center employees and their immediate family members. To be eligible, applicants must be currently enrolled or accepted in an accredited program in the areas of nursing, medicine, or allied medical studies.

This year, Samaritan Hospital Foundation (SHF) once again increased its support for the next generation of nursing and allied medical students by increasing total grants to $87,000 in scholastic awards to 39 local students. Scholastic awards range from $1,000 to $4,000.

The Foundation gave several different types of awards this year. The Samaritan Hospital School of Nursing Alumni Award for $1,000 was awarded to Bailey Davis; the Gounder & Ponnammal Scholastic Award for $2,000 went to Tiffany Calabrese; the Elizabeth Myer Mitchell Award and joint SHF/AU Award went to Emma Schneeg for $4,000 and Emily Fry for $2,000; and the Alice E Stinchcomb Award for $3,000 was given to Frances Radway. The Nancy J. Stockwell Award is helping four students with their education this year: Yesenia Rodriguez received $2,000, Sarah Henthorn $4,000, Alexis Starner $2,000, and Sophia Ediger $3,000. The SHF North Central State College Award went to two deserving students: Christina Galbraith received $2,000, and Ana Susan Burkholder received $2,000 and an additional $2,000 from the SHF Scholastic Medical Fund. The SHF Ashland County West Holmes Career Center Health Technology Award was given to Avery Iceman for $2,000, Arin Merle for $2,000, and Brantson Prosser for $1,500.

Twenty five students received SHF Scholastic Medical Fund Awards in the amount of $4,000 to Griffin Adkins, Allison Barr, Jenna Book, Jessica Furrow, and Rebekah Raczynaski; $3,000 to Payton Fickes; $2,000 to Emily Brown, Clowie Flinner, Andrew Fulk, Alayna Furr, Ellison Kerschner, Lindsey Langerbrunner, Aubrianna Lugil, Brytni Rogers, Cameron Sloter, and Christina Vanderpool; $1,500 to Alena Wasielewski; and $1,000 was awarded to Cayla Bohl, Megan Chance, Collette Ruth Decker, Sydney Fry, Taylor Garver, Sophia Goon, Carlyn Kauffman, and Katia Ringer.

« Back to General News Releases