SHF Health-Related Scholastic Awards for Local Grads Totals $139,500 in 2024—Surpassing Last Year’s Awards by More Than $30K!

June 17, 2024

The Samaritan Hospital Foundation is pleased to again offer scholastic awards to local graduates residing in Ashland County, UH Samaritan Medical Center employees and their immediate family members. To be eligible, applicants must be currently enrolled or accepted in an accredited program in the areas of nursing, medicine, or allied medical studies.

This year, Samaritan Hospital Foundation (SHF) once again increased its support for the next generation of nursing and allied medical students by increasing total grants to the highest amount to date, reaching $139,500 in scholastic awards supporting 53 local students.

The Foundation gave several different types of awards this year. The Samaritan Hospital School of Nursing Alumni Scholastic Award was awarded to Emma Agee; the Gounder & Ponnammal Scholastic Award went to Allison Barr; the Elizabeth Myers Mitchell Scholastic Award went to Cody Luke and Mary Dever; and the Alice E Stinchcomb Award was given to Sarah Lysinger. The Nancy J. Stockwell Scholastic Award is helping three students with their education this year: Anthony Baumann, Amanda Finger, and Andrew Fulk. The SHF North Central State College Scholastic Award went to four deserving students: Aubrey Callahan, Elyse Oxenrider, Camryn Butts, and Maggie Hellickson. The Dr. Philip E. Myers Medical Scholastic Award went to Bailey Davis and Francis Dinsmore. The Paul R. Myers Medical Scholastic Award went to Katia Ringler and Brooklyn Schmitz.

Three students received the Samaritan Hospital Foundation Presidential Scholastic Award: Griffin Adkins, Rebekah Kaufman, and Maria Welch. Thirty-five students received Samaritan Hospital Foundation Scholastic Awards, including: Gingerine Beard, Parker Beard, Cayla Bohl, Gavin Finger, Clowie Flinner, Emma Flinner, Sophia Goon, Nathon Meikle, Ashley Sparks, Megan Chance, Ramey Adkins, Jada Baker, Bryn Grabowski, Kailey Bradley, Natalee Buzzard, Emily Fry, Sydney Fry, Taylor Garver, Alyssa Henley, Elly Keener, Reese Landis, Aubrianna Lugli, Travis Nalley, Aidan Neibert, Bailey Parsons, Nate Schemine, Cameron Sloter, Chloe Smith, Emma VanAtta, Maximillian Steinhouser, David “Andrew” Swartz, Erica VanStee, Grant Wallery, Alena Wasielewski, and Maxwell Zywica.

« Back to General News Releases